From Flats To Lofts

our lives within these walls

A New Year!

1 Comment

Well, it’s official, the year has begun and life has resumed around here. Evan went back to work yesterday, and let me just say as a sidenote that I truly appreciate how the Brits value holiday time. Having a few extra days between Christmas and the New Year off made for an incredible time to enjoy the season without feeling rushed!

Things leading up to Christmas, as always, felt a bit hectic. Year end responsibilities kept Evan busy and the rush to get our home study finalized and dossier paperwork in before offices were closed for the holidays kept things from being as peaceful as I would have hoped. I also felt the need to fill as much of British tradition into our days as possible.

St. Pauls Christmas Eve London | Flats to Lofts

All in all, I’m glad we went to every holiday market we could find, if for nothing else, to know what we wouldn’t want to miss next year. I’m glad we attended St. Paul’s midnight Christmas Eve service, but will make sure to get tickets to the afternoon Christmas Eve service at Westminster next year! (getting to bed at 3 am on Christmas morning wasn’t exactly what I had in mind!)

It was sad to have Evan go back to work as it makes my days quieter, but I have an ever-growing list of things to keep me busy. I’m also trying to let myself take the time to watch an afternoon movie or read mindless fiction because those days will hopefully soon be coming to an end. But for now, it’s me and Roxy, bundled in blankets filling out grant applications most days, knowing that with every submission we are one step closer to our lives changing forever, and if that isn’t a hopeful start to the New Year, nothing is!

Black and Tan Dachshund | Flats to Lofts

One thought on “A New Year!

  1. You are both in our prayers much

Leave a Comment

