From Flats To Lofts

our lives within these walls

Almost Fall

1 Comment

It feels almost like fall here in KY and in the UK it has already started. What better way to celebrate fall than with a little baking. I’m sure you’ll all seen/tried the two ingredient pumpkin muffins on Pinterest…you just mix up a can of pumpkin with a boxed cake mix – and you get something that sounds fun and is super easy, but doesn’t really taste  like pumpkin. So, last week I decided to make some, but added a couple of things. I put cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger (basically pumpkin pie spices) in the mix, and they made up a vanilla glaze for the top. Still really easy, but the result definitely tasted more like fall! Of course my non-pumpkin pie loving husband (he may be Communist…) didn’t love the spices, but I thought it was a fun and fall like change worthy of a 65 degree August morning.

photo-120

So, here’s my new & improved recipe:

1 can of plain pumpkin

1 box of white cake mix

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

mix and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes (I made mini muffins and they were done in 18. I’ve also made jumbo sized ones that probably took closer to 30)

For the glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

1-3 tablespoons of milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

mix together – add more sugar or mile until you get the  consistence you prefer. I dipped my muffins in the glaze and yet them sit on the counter until it hardened up a bit.

I can’t wait to try a bunch of new recipes this fall, and Ruthanne is scheming ways to get some of her neighbors apples – which apparently are just falling from the tree and being left to die a lonely death on the ground.

One thought on “Almost Fall

  1. They look awesome! I think I will make them Saturday

Leave a Comment

