From Flats To Lofts

our lives within these walls

Christmas Bird House

Leave a comment

I first time I walked into Michael’s this summer I was thrilled to see that they not only had fall and Thanksgiving decorations out . . . in August, but they even had Christmas items starting to appear. I bought a few wooden ornaments on that first trip that I’m saving to paint until closer to Christmas. A few weeks later, I saw this little Christmas bird house, and was sold due to my interest in moose, and desire to incorporate them into holiday decor. The $3 price tag didn’t hurt either.

Christmas Bird House | Flats to Lofts

I finally started working on it this past weekend. I’m not sure exactly how I’m going to paint it quite yet, but a few weeks ago my Mom and I decided that it would probably be best to prime the bird house before painting. So this weekend saw priming. I used a white spray-paint and primer mix that worked well. It took two coats, but I am very pleased with the outcome.

Christmas Bird House | Flats to Lofts

I’m thinking about attempting a sort of shingling for the roof. The big question is the moose’s coloring. That I’ll probably have to save until last to see how it works together. I’m also planning on drilling a hole in the back to be able to add lights inside so that it can be lit.

Leave a Comment

