From Flats To Lofts

our lives within these walls

Donuts

3 Comments

Now that we are back in the States, and Evan’s surgery is behind us (though full recovery takes 6 months) I’m trying to utilize the fall at home to grow in some areas I feel have been neglected over the past two years in India.

Before going to India, Evan and I worked full-time jobs and were in school the rest of the time, and so though we tried to expand our culinary abilities when we had long weekends and during school breaks, I feel like there was a lot I didn’t have the time to learn around the home simply because of our schedules. Though India provided a less hectic schedule, we no longer had the ability to go to a grocery store that had anything you could imagine, or craft stores. Life in India was much more survival than creating.

But, we’re back. And so I’ve created a list of things I want to do. A lot of them are food items that I want to “master” while under the tutelage of my mom and dad who are incredible cooks, but there are also “craft” items that I label as good womanly skills.

One of the cooking items on the list to master this fall are donuts.

Cinnamon Donuts | Flats to Lofts

Our first week back from India we went to our local Crate and Barrel and saw a donut pan for roughly $10, and at that price, I knew donut making was going to be a part of my immediate future. To make the deal a little sweeter, they had a cinnamon donut mix on sale for $2, and I thought that would be a great way to start; with a reputable mix, that way I know what donuts are supposed to be like before I start trusting every other recipe I’ve pinned on Pinterest.

The donuts turned out pretty phenomenally.

Cinnamon Donuts | Flats to Lofts

I’m a huge fan of apple cider and pumpkin spice donuts, which I will attempt a little later in fall. My next donut attempt is either going to be a vanilla bean donut that uses a waffle iron to “bake” them or lemon poppy seed. I’m glad to be home and glad to be cooking again. It’s one of the many perks of being back home!

3 thoughts on “Donuts

  1. I so understand the desire to make homemade donuts! Having 3 littles at home makes it more of a necessity to try to make homemade things than a burning desire for me though, LOL…anyway, the first time I tried truly homemade, the donuts were DISGUSTING, in my opinion (the kids ate them, I don’t know why or how, but they managed)…haha.

    Although you already have the pan, there is a very simple way to making them at home, the cinnamon sugar variety that is… my mom always just used canned biscuits and made a hole in the center, dropped them in a saucepan with oil for a few minutes and then put them in a container filled with sugar/cinnamon mix and shook it up.

    Then for the closest thing to our New Orleans style Beignets (a must here, lol) you can get without actually making “real” beignets, is to do the same process except put the rest in a container of powdered sugar.

    It’s great fun for the kids to be the ones to do the actual shaking too!

    • I have made them using biscuits, but Ruthanne is always fancier than I am!!
      ~Sarabeth

      • My stuff almost always tastes good, but as for fancy and as far as the presentation goes, it can almost always be lacking in one way or another, lol! But, good luck with your journey to homemaking! It is a tough one, but can also be very fun at times! (Btw…I found your blog through your husband’s, who liked a post of mine- so we have gone full circle now, lol)

Leave a Comment

