From Flats To Lofts

our lives within these walls

Coming Home

Leave a comment

After 2 years, 3 countries, 5 cities, and 7 flats, we are coming home! Though I’m normally a rather reflective person, I don’t seem to be able to do that just yet. It’s hard to think back and sum up the past two years: our first time living overseas, being away from family for so long, without our dogs, jobs, furniture, or all the trappings of what make home feel like home. The road hasn’t been easy, but now that I’m standing at the end of it, I don’t know what to say, or think, or feel.

I always thought I would weep for joy when we finally land in the US and the sign over immigration says, “Welcome Home.” But, now I don’t know so much. Though we are a few short hours away from heading to the airport, (or somewhere over the Atlantic by the time this is posted) I don’t know what I feel, if I feel anything at this point. Maybe its shock that it is finally here, or fear that something will go wrong in the travels.

Perhaps over the next few days the emotions will start to settle and I’ll be able to think more clearly about our time here and the future, I’ll be able to reflect on the past and dream about the future. But for right now, I’m just ready to get the final items packed, and finally head home.

Michael Buble sings a song called “Home” that pretty much sums it up. If I was tech savvy I would add a clip here (if that is even possible), but I’m not. So, check it out on iTunes. I might just play it on a loop for the 24+ hours we will be traveling. It basically sums everything up, and hopefully will help me sort through the feelings that I can’t quite express.

Leave a Comment

