From Flats To Lofts

our lives within these walls

Kitchen Pears

Leave a comment

As I was organizing a closet last weekend I stumbled upon a gift that had been hidden away and forgotten. Always a fun surprise (thankfully I was allowed to have it now, and didn’t have to wait until the next major holiday)! And since it was a print I have wanted for a while, and was the perfect green color to match my sister’s KitchenAid mixer, and also is food related I thought the kitchen was the perfect place to hang it.

The only problem was the frame I decided to put it in. It’s a nice Pottery Barn frame we got as a wedding gift, but it is a pain to hang because it has two hooks on the back. I suppose this makes the frame more stable, but Andy and I have put many extra holes in our walls trying to get these things level! So, I decided to try something a little different. Using tape, a level, and a yard stick, I measured out a perfectly straight line in minutes. (A first for sure!)

flats_to_lofts-picture_hanging_101

Step 1: Put a piece of painters tape on the wall where you want to hang your picture.

Step 2: Using a level draw a straight line on your masking tape.

flats_to_lofts-step_1

Step 3: Measure the distance between the hooks on the back of your picture frame and mark these spots on the line on your tape.

Step 4: Hammer nails into the marked spots on your tape.

Step 5: Remove tape.

flats_to_lofts-step_2

Step 6: Hang your picture and admire how level it is.

flats_to_lofts-kitchen_pear

Leave a Comment

