From Flats To Lofts

our lives within these walls

Baking Soda Cleaning Scrub

Leave a comment

Baking soda, like vinegar, seems to be a secret weapon in cleaning. We have encountered some serious filth when moving into flats on this side of the world. Just like in America, standards of cleanliness vary greatly. I am my father’s daughter and I have been taught that any level of dirt is uncalled for. In our second apartment in India we started by cleaning with bleach. After 2 days I no longer had skin on my fingers, I didn’t know my name, and the stains on the cabinets were still there. That’s when my sister introduced me to this; what I have so profoundly called “Baking Soda Cleaning Scrub.” You haven’t truly experienced dirt until you come to India, and I have never been so amazed by a cleaning product!

Baking Soda Scrub

INGREDIENTS:

1 C Baking Soda (I use Arm & Hammer basic baking soda)

1 squirt of Antibacterial Dish Soap

Enough water to form it into a paste

Baking Soda Scrub

What do you do?

1. Mix the ingredients. I store it in this ever attractive and convenient little jar.

Baking Soda Scrub

2. Scrub and be amazed. I typically scrub with a “green scrubby pad.” I think they might be “Scotch Bright Pads.”

3. Wipe clean with a damp cloth

What do I clean with it?

The short answer is everything. But most regularly:

1. The kitchen sink

2. Bathroom soap scum

3. Faucets

4. Cabinets upon moving into a new flat

The baking soda is slightly abrasive and so it great for getting out stains. The antibacterial hand soap makes it antibacterial. I have occasionally added too much soap which begins to foam when you wipe away your scrubbing. Don’t be concerned. A good wipe down with a damp cloth followed by a final wipe down with a dry cloth with get rid of any remaining soap bubbles.

I can’t say enough good things about this little cleaner and think it should be part of every housewarming present ever given.

I did read somewhere that because the baking soda is “slightly abrasive,” you may not want to use it on stainless steel. I have used it on wood, laminate, particle board, and granite as well as basic sinks and faucets, and tile flooring without any issues at all.

I make this and keep it on hand for easy use. Over time it will dry out a little bit. When you go to use it, just add a little water to get it back to a paste and you are in business.

I hope that it changes your cleaning struggles and helps you find some of those hard to clean surfaces a little less daunting!

Leave a Comment

