From Flats To Lofts

our lives within these walls

A Valentine’s Day Garland

2 Comments

February is a fun month. I love all of the pink Valentine’s Day decorations, as well as my heart shaped birthday cake. But, decorating for this pink and red and frilly holiday can be a little bit tricky for me. I live in a modern loft and don’t want anything that looks too ‘country’. So, for the most part I just haven’t decorated at all.

But, I wanted to try something this year. My idea was to make a heart garland for the front door. Something like this:

 how-to-make-a-heart-garland

So, off we went to Hobby Lobby to pick up some scrapbook paper. I wanted a mix of colors and patterns. This is what we ended up with:

heart-garland-scrapbook-papers

A couple of pinks, a green one that looks Indian, of course in honor of my sister’s current location, a black and white one for contrast, and Andrew’s pick – the solid red one. I never would have chosen this one, but it really complemented the others and I think it looks great in the finished garland.

Valentine's-Day-Garland

I’m not great at making symmetrical heart shapes, so I simple drew half of a heart on a piece of folded scrap paper. Like this:

create-a-heart-template

I repeated this four times so I would have a bit of variety, then simply cut the hearts out and traced them onto the back of the scrapbook paper.

 hearts-for-garland

Then it was just a matter of cutting out the hearts (I had about 5 of each) and creating the garland.

 heart-garland-layout

I wanted two rows to fill up more space on the door, so I laid out my pattern on the table. I didn’t take much time on this step as I didn’t want it to look to planned and formal. But I did try to have a mix of each design in each row of garland.

 heart-garland

I have a sewing machine that I am still trying to master, and thought it would be fun to stitch my hearts together. Although you could also glue the hearts onto a piece of thin ribbon.

sew-a-heart-garland

Using a fun zigzag stitch and white thread I tried my best to sew a straight line across each heart. I left about an inch between each one.

sewing-heart-garland-2

I used a couple pieces of washi tape to adhere them to the door. So far things are sticking, even with the freezing temperatures and snow we have had all weekend.

 washi-tape-on-heart-garland

Half done.

 heart-garland-1

After completing the second garland I attached it below the first and then used a couple of pieces of scotch tape on the backs of the hearts to keep them from blowing around and flipping upside down.

 heart-garland-completed

I like the look and for less than $8, including paper and the tape, and 30 minutes, it makes a great Valentine’s Day craft that will hopefully last all month.

Valentine's-Day-Garland

I still have most of the scrapbook paper left, so I may make a couple of extra garlands for the house. It would be fun on a bookcase or mantle.

2 thoughts on “A Valentine’s Day Garland

  1. I’m loving these different prints! You should enter your photos from this project into Craftbaby’s Hearts Craft Challenge 🙂 http://www.craftbaby.com/contests/43/those-tiny-toes-hearts-craft

    xo,
    Candie

Leave a Comment

